Maine Association of Physician Assistants

Maine Constituent Chapter to the American Academy of Physician Assistants

Susan Vincent Memorial Scholarship

Each year, MEAPA  awards a $1,000 Susan Vincent Memorial Scholarship, in memory of fellow PA, Susan Vincent.

Scholarship Requirements

1) The student applicant must be a Maine resident at the time of acceptance into a

PA Program and share a desire to work and serve in Maine upon graduation.

2) The student must submit a letter of acceptance from an accredited Physician Assistant Program.

3) The applicant is asked to submit a brief statement detailing why she/he deserves and needs this scholarship. (maximum length - 2 single-typed pages)

4) The applicant should exemplify those qualities that Susan Vincent modeled during her life - against the odds, achieving goals set forth educationally and career-wise, while serving his/her community. Volunteerism was very important to Susan.

Deadline for Submission: June 9, 2018 to


Susan Vincent grew up in New Jersey and attended the Rutger’s Physician Assistant Program. PAs at the time could not practice in NJ, though this did not stop Susan from pursuing her goal to become a PA. Prior to becoming a PA, she and her husband at the time both volunteered with their community EMS. Volunteer work and giving back to her community was very important to Susan.

Susan Vincent lived and worked as a physician assistant in Maine during the early 1980’s and served on the MEAPA (formally DEAPA) Board of Directors during that time. She worked at the University of Maine Cutler Health Center with a focus on family medicine. She became aware of the high cost of health care and made it her focus to practice preventative medicine with a mind toward cost effective provision of care. Susan loved the outdoors, enjoyed hiking and camping, and was a veteran of Walt Abbott’s Wilderness Canoe Course at the University of Maine. She was an avid bi-cyclist and also enjoyed singing with the University of Maine chorale group. While in the university setting, she began taking courses to prepare herself for the next step in her career with a goal to attend medical school. She then attended the University of Vermont College of Medicine and nearly completed her residency in Pediatrics when her previously diagnosed malignant melanoma returned. Despite her illness, she continued to study and was accepted into the Pediatric Oncology Fellowship Program just before her death.

MEAPA (formally DEAPA) honors Susan Vincent through this scholarship for her zest for life and strong determination to reach her goals despite all odds. She enjoyed life to its fullest and encouraged others to do so and to give back to the community unselfishly. This Association feels her example will inspire many to achieve set goals and to become a strong and caring member of the health care team.

Scholarship Recipients

1994 Alison J. Bureau ($500) Duquesne University—Pennsylvania

1994 Betsy A. Cook ($500) Rochester Institute of Technology—New York

1995 Blue Karnofsky ($500) Northeastern University—Massachusetts

1995 Stephanie Wollerscheid ($500) Duquesne University—Pennsylvania

1996 Charles J. Roth, III ($1,000) University of New England—Maine

1997 Stacey Day ($1,000) University of New England—Maine

1998 Michael D. Gross ($1,000) University of New England—Maine

1999 Susan S. Hathaway ($1,100) University of New England—Maine

2000 Megan E. Yuill ($1,000) Gannon University—Pennsylvania

2001 Timothy J. Kelly ($1,000) University of New England—Maine

2002 Sara E. Dube ($1,000) University of New England—Maine

2003 Sara Roberts ($,1000) University of New England—Maine

2004 Lisa Brown ($1,000) Yale University School of Medicine—Connecticut

2005 Diana Blake ($1,000) University of New England—Maine

2006 Nathan Hayes ($1,000) University of New England—Maine

2007 Cynthia Thomson ($1,000) Shenandoah University—Virginia

2008 Gordon Murphy ($1,000) University of New England—Maine

2009 Angela Chase ($1,000) University of New England—Maine

2010 Amy Hanscom ($1,000) Northeastern University—Massachusetts

2011 Caitlin Mahoney($1,000) University of New England—Maine

2012 Nilaya Palmer ($1,000) University of New England—Maine

2013 Lauren Blaisdell ($1,000) University of New England—Maine

2014 Jessica Peay ($1000) MCPHS University– New Hampshire

2015 Maluil Mabur ($1000) University of New England - Maine

2016 Alexandra Kane ($1000) University of New England - Maine

2017 Zenab Shaikh ($1000) University of New England - Maine

Executive Director: Kate Smith
Assistant Exec. Director: Eric Swanson 
Support: Email Us!

Maine Association of Physician Assistants is managed by The Markens Group, Inc. , an AMCI accredited association management company

© 2019 Maine Association of Physician Assistants

                               MEAPA (New Address)
                               PO Box 10143
                               Portland, ME 04104
                               (207) 620-7577 or 
                               (413) 285-8619

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software